What would you rather be?

lokem

1. Software engineer
2. Systems engineer
3. Technical support

I'm currently a software engineer and it's getting really boring. Been doing that for 2 years now. Was thinking of going into the systems side of stuff.

What do you guys think?

Comments are welcome.

I've been a software engineer/software support/systems analyst/data monkey for about 3 and a half years now. I think I need to work for a different company or at least work on some different software as presently I am bored out of my skull with what I am working on :(

I wouldn't mind being a systems engineer but having to do technical support for a living is something that I would hate to do.

Re: Re: What would you rather be?

Originally posted by Arris
I've been a software engineer/software support/systems analyst/data monkey for about 3 and a half years now. I think I need to work for a different company or at least work on some different software as presently I am bored out of my skull with what I am working on :(

I guess I'm getting there! Hoping to get some challenging stuff to do is rather hard to come by these days.

I wouldn't mind being a systems engineer but having to do technical support for a living is something that I would hate to do.

Some pple will swear against having to code for a living as well ;) Just wished there's a job where you can do both! :)

Originally posted by boeingfixer
Tech Support, definatly Tech....and the calls would make great posts...!!1

Problem is if the person isn't online you can't just say "Check out this post". You have to reiterate how to do X everytime someone calls with that problem.....