Graphics card for my laptop?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a laptop expert but I don't think it's possiblt to upgrade VGA cards on such a computer. I might be wrong. Check out the HP site & see what you can find out there.

You can check the HP site, but I doubt it will be possible.
That is one of the trade offs of a laptop, very little expandablity.

The only thing I have ever seen before is a "full docking station" that has an internal PCI slot where you can install whatever you want. Gateway used to see it and it was 500.00 for the docking station. Nowadays you can buy a computer for that.

Checkout HP's site and look around for a used one on the net.

If I remember correctly, Dell actually provides upgrade for their notebooks. From some vid card to the GeForce mobile. Not sure if HP notebooks are built the same way or not.

Originally posted by lokem
If I remember correctly, Dell actually provides upgrade for their notebooks. From some vid card to the GeForce mobile. Not sure if HP notebooks are built the same way or not.

Dell just has different configs. If you order one with 64mb video, Dell just grabs the 64mb chassis version of the laptop you ordered configures the rest of it and ships it out to you.

Yeah thats the down fall for portability. If we could come up with miniature componants and laptops you could actually expand or upgrade, we could make a fortune. I have always wondered about that. Want a faster or better graphics card, just unplug and upgrade....man that would be sweet !!

Why dont you talk to your board members over at your startup company, boeing..They will receptive..

Originally posted by svtcobra Dell just has different configs. If you order one with 64mb video, Dell just grabs the 64mb chassis version of the laptop you ordered configures the rest of it and ships it out to you.

It's not like that. It's upgrading from an ATI chip to an nVidia chip.

Originally posted by svtcobra